Poets logo

lies we are told + tell ourselves

why ignore the shadow hovering above you. to draw the light from inside, its already burnt out.

By Ziggy ReyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
lies we are told + tell ourselves
Photo by Shaouraav Shreshtha on Unsplash

The worst lie i was ever told was that you died. You did, but not like that. The worst lie i was ever told was that everything was going to be okay. It will, but not for a while still. The worst lie i was ever told was that you loved me. You do, but not the way i need to be loved.

why hide the truth when the lies will hurt more later. Its simple procrastination. why bear false witness when it will break relations. it will kill you. why deny honesty to loved ones. For your own sake?

The worst lie i ever told myself was that i am just like everyone else. I am, but not in the ways that matter to me. The worst lie I ever told myself was that i am okay. I was, but not still. The worst lie i ever told myself was that I like this. I don't- not at all.

why lie to yourself when you know the reality. ignorance is bliss- you know the real reason. why ignore the shadow hovering above you. to draw the light from inside, its already burnt out.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Ziggy Rey

three eyes open.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.