Poets logo

Lies

Poetry

By Lucy StarrPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The noises drew me in.

They all spoke the same thing.

I wasn’t sure why I was so inclined to hear it.

What was happening to me?

The voices that I wanted to hear weren’t in unison,

But that only added to the effect they had on me

It seemed to temporarily cool my nerves

But even though their howls felt good,

Something deeper stirred inside me, saying that pain would hit after it was done

The cries were so sweet,

So sappy,

So pretty,

Maybe that was what stopped me from leaving,

Even though I felt that it wasn’t real,

There was no harm in falling for it for just a little while, right?

But suddenly their cries took figure,

A monster,

And I was able to narrow down what they were yelling about,

Because they weren’t just saying anything,

They were crying,

Wolf, wolf, wolf

And a single tear dropped down to the floor in front of me

Because after the lies took shape,

I figure out the truth of the world hiding underneath the blurred imagery.

The creatures crying wolf only give me temporary relief from the pain,

But when the truth hit,

It was harder than it should have been

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Starr

Hi,

I enjoy writing poems and short stories that reflect how I feel. I occasionally complete challenges, and although I'm clearly not the most accomplished writer, I write for fun and leisure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.