Poets logo

Neutral

Indifference

By Lucy StarrPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I can't lose something if it was never in my possession.

I can't be sad since I've never felt joy.

I can't be happy since I've never felt miserable.

My neutral world. My neutral life.

I focus on money. I focus on power.

I rise to the top.

I go through the inevitable troubles in order to guarantee a rise in the ranks.

I burn money like the bones of those which I have crushed to get to my position.

I squeeze the handles of my armchair and sit straighter.

My expression remains the same, it never changes.

If only everyone was as perfect as me.

I release the button and watch as the smoke spreads throughout the city.

Now, everyone is as perfect as me.

I watch as their faces stop glowing.

Fathers let go of their children's hands.

Just like my dad did to me.

Mothers make their kids walk to school.

Just like my mom did to me

But I wasn't born without a heart. I wasn't always emotionless like this. But once I realized that the only way to get things done without letting my emotions get in my way was to remove my heart.

After that, I became smarter. I became an inventor. But my greatest creation has just been released upon the world, an easier way to raise the intelligence of humans without letting emotions get in the way.

Now, everyone was like me.

I wasn't happy, but I wasn't sad. I didn't feel that growing pleasure rise within me, but I felt a spark of something.

It rippled through the roots of my heartless body until it reached my brain.

Panic shot through me, an emotion that I hadn't experienced in forever.

I stuck my head out the window to the smoke-infested world to subdue the feeling and I felt neutral again.

Good.

But I was intelligent to know now that emotions don't always come from the heart.

I inhaled the smoke again to erase the memory.

Good.

Now, everything is back.

To the beginning.

I'm not happy, but neither am I sad. I am neutral. I always will be. I am perfect. And now, everyone's like me.

We're all different. We're all special. We're all unique.

Just like everyone else.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Starr

Hi,

I enjoy writing poems and short stories that reflect how I feel. I occasionally complete challenges, and although I'm clearly not the most accomplished writer, I write for fun and leisure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.