Poets logo

Lies

Smooth Poetry Challenge

By Madi HaywoodPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Image from Sabri Tuzco on Unsplash

His honeyed voice

Flowed over me,

A gentle evening breeze

Soporific, the words

Entranced me into believing him,

True as death

He spoke,

‘I didn’t mean it,’ an angel

Concealing his devilish horns

His smooth lies ran over my head

Like cattle, running from a storm

Never to truly escape it

So soft and slick,

He rattled them off like

Song lyrics

The rose-tinted glasses

Were balanced precariously

On the tip of my nose

But still concealing

So very carefully

The truth:

Lies are hidden,

Waiting to pounce;

A wolf's fur lying in the wilds

Smooth as glass

I let out a sigh,

Lost in the tranquillity of him

heartbreak

About the Creator

Madi Haywood

Hi there! My name's Madi and I'm an aspiring author. I really enjoy reading modernised fairy tales, and retellings of classic stories, and I hope to write my own in the future. Fantasy stories are my go-to reads.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Madi Haywood (Author)7 months ago

    This is entered into the Smooth Poetry challenge. I hope you enjoy it!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    So sad, and a great challenge entry!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Lovely

Madi HaywoodWritten by Madi Haywood

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.