Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Letting Go

A dying soldier and a hungry bird

By Sean SelleckPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Letting Go
Photo by Jon Butterworth on Unsplash

Leave me alone. What are you doing?

Eating your liver, it is satisfying.

Then I must be dead.

Your intestines have already begun to rot.

Our side appears to be losing.

Unsatisfying appendix. You did not have long.

Retreat now comrades! Retreat away from death!

Stop talking, your lungs are flapping.

Eagerly you peck at me, what is this torture?

Leaden with flesh and feeling, I must relieve you of the this.

Fly away Bird of the devil's bidding.

Finding the kidneys is always hard.

Lest my soul not be borne towards Heaven.

You indulged too often in the drink.

Let me know why I am still thinking.

Even the Mind Eater does not know.

That does not comfort me.

Your intestines were unwell – not good for me.

Oh Lord, are you pondering my situation?

Until you depart, you know nothing of the divine.

Remind me, why are you here?

Stop questioning me and let me feed.

End this now so I may move on.

Leave your body so I can dine in peace.

Figures in the darkness, clawing at me.

Go now with the Travellers and cease your prattle.

Oblivion awaits me, and I am scared.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Sean Selleck

Hobby writer with a love for genre fiction, and focussing on prose and scripts with the occasional dabble in poetry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran14 days ago

    Oooo, I loved how dark and intense this was!

Sean SelleckWritten by Sean Selleck

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.