Poets logo

Letters Home

A Kind of Love Poem

By ROCK Published 3 months ago 2 min read
10
Letters Home
Photo by Avery Murray on Unsplash

Dear USA,

It’s been many years since I left home, a place I loved and freely roamed.

Born in nineteen sixty-three amidst a war across the sea.

In the south where I grew up, desegregation bloomed like butter cups.

Children from the city known for song were placed on buses and travelled long.

In class three a bus stopped to park at my school, out poured children red, Black, and blue.

I was excited to see their faces, unaffected by our different races.

In class three I played daily with Antoine, Joyce, and tiny Bailey.

Their dark brown eyes to this day, warm my heart in a solemn way.

Clasped hands white and brown, skipping rope and running `round.

We merrily sang until the school bell rang,

“Ring around the rosies, a pocket full of posies, ashes, ashes, we all fall down!” All while spinning on the merry-go-round.

Taking turns we felt each other’s hair, our teacher smiled as we sat in our chairs.

Our teacher too was brown and had a baby growing, we all were told as she was showing.

I recall a day while she was on duty, a white boy gave her a gift, two hand knit booties.

Her face lit up for they were hand sewn by his white mother, someone unknown.

“Bussing” humans, the government cited, was a success as we were united.

Now I am sixty in a far away land, my country divided like it all began.

Red, Black, and blue a whole other meaning, what happened to us playing and singing?

Society scarred and sour, carelessly handled by no superpower.

I hate you yet long for you, your troubles are mine, too.

I defend you, our people, your resilience, and pride,

Yet I am broken as the world watches in stride.

Guns, shootings, and Black American’s still, fighting to live without being killed.

How are Antoine, Joyce, and Bailey? Are your babies now men, are they worried daily?

Protest signs, riots are all still there, not in my memory but daily in flares!

As children we huddled in tornado drills, giggled, joked, and made small squeals.

Now although in so called unition, school drills are needed against ammunition.

At eight with Antoine, Joyce, and Bailey side by side, we never imagined our lives would divide.

I never imagined I’d live across the sea; I wonder if they remember me.

As headlines roll in from my home state, peace and love are still a debate.

The flag which waves before me is yellow and blue, this country is not perfect, yet better it’s true.

Democracy, hypocrisy, all countries have crisis; I expected my homeland to still be the nicest.

I stand at the shore of the North Sea as tears well up for Tennessee.

The little girl inside still cares about you, the USA, red, Black, and blue.

Sincerely,

Hope

social commentary
10

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Hey Rock. I think we’ve done the opposite. I moved to the US from the U.K. Lots of things I love about Maryland. Lots of things I miss from home. Your commentary on your homeland is so poignant. Great writing.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    Oh, Rock, how poignant. We should leave social construct to children, who do not see color, and we would all be better off. Wonderful poem!

  • This was so poignant, touching and emotional! Loved your poem!

  • Your memories of integration in the South are so marvelously contrasting to what we so often heard in those days. And such a contrast to what we hear now. A two-star general just broke the law by appearing with Trump at a campaign rally where the Don railed on xenophobically & racist as ever. Of course, he serves at the pleasure of Governor Abbott, fascist of Texas, so I'm sure there will be no repercussions. And now the Supreme Court has delayed their hearing on whether Trump has immunity or not, a case most scholars believe they already know what they will decide (that there is no special immunity for insurrection), but want to make it so late the trial can't take place before he can pardon himself (if he wins in November). I too, fear for our Democracy, the country, the Republican Party, & the sanity of all those who may not be MAGA but still plan to vote for him.

  • Rowan Finley 3 months ago

    This shows your beautiful heart! ❤️ 👏 Great job!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This is heartbreaking for many reasons. Mostly because its true and the hatreds daily flare. The empathy in your words, the memories of childhood innocence ring true. I feel them so powerfully. Though I grew up in the north, (in the most Scandinavian of states - Minnesota), I have deep love for the south where my grandparents lived in Mississippi. The existential pain that I feel at what is happening here in America is felt daily. You are both a wonderful poet and storyteller, ROCK. I love reading your work!

  • Thank you for sharing yourself with us in this poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.