Poets logo

Letter to the Editor

Was it Something I said?

By Latoya Giles Published about a year ago 1 min read
4

To the Powers that be,

Greetings! I hope this letter finds you well. I am bursting at the seems from all the stories I have to tell. A "free" writing platform I found one day somehow. I've been on it a little while, over 2 years now. Short stories, poems, interviews too. The subjects available to write for are quite the array. Every few days or so, a challenge emerges. Oh how interesting they always are, teaching me literary terms I'd never heard before. I have entered challenges, one after the other. I check anxiously, only to see that first place is always another, never this single mother.It is disheartening, if I am being honest and clear. Please, continue to hear me out dear. I am a black single mom, but I am not a statistic. I am not pulling the race card either, in case you missed it. I haven't seen a winner like me though. At least not yet. Is it me? Specifically?? Does my writing suck so much that even after entering challenges for years, I still lose? How do you choose? What specifications, unlisted, do I have to meet? I will continue to compete. Be a graceful loser. Better luck next time and all that. A nice pat on my back: "Go get 'em tiger!"I will. I know life isn't fair but I wanna make sure the scale isn't tipped. Again I will try...*coin flipped*

Sincerely ,

ThatWriterGirl

surreal poetryslam poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhow tofact or fictionexcerptsbook reviewsart
4

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Awesome story!!! Loved it!!!❤️

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTERabout a year ago

    Very touching.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.