Poets logo

Letter To My Unborn Child

#FactOrFiction This is both a poem and a monologue. A poetic monologue of sorts. You can imagine your own background story to create your own understanding of the character, what she is saying, and what she is going through. I'm not sure if there's a 'contact' or 'comment' section here. If not, you can drop me an email at [email protected] for any feedback or context suggestions.

By LPPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

I didn't love you.

I know how crazy that sounds, but I just didn't love you.

I really wanted to.

I tried and I begged for God to let me love you,

But I just... didn't.

And I think that's why, for three months, I pretended like you didn't exist.

I didn't need a test to know that you were there.

I knew there was this... thing growing inside of me.

My swollen and aching breasts, missed periods, lack of appetite, and constant nausea were sure tell-tale signs.

Plus, a mother always knows.

How ironic. A mother.

That's what I could have been.

A mother

A mother

A mother

Even saying it a million times still sounds strange.

It sounds strange because the title just wasn't meant for me.

I'm nobody's mother.

Me?

A mother? A mummy??

I know that they say the next step after marriage is children, but I just couldn't do it.

I dealt with you all on my own for 3 months, and nobody even noticed.

Not even your father.

Not even your grandmother, or your aunties and uncles.

Nobody.

And that's why it was easy for me to let you go the way I did.

Yes, I did the drugs.

Yes, I treated you like a punching bag.

Yes, I did everything I could to get rid of you because I just didn't deserve you!

I didn't deserve a "bundle of joy"

A precious little thing

With tiny little cheeks

Brown like dark chocolate, just like your mummy and daddy.

No.

NO!

Don't do that to me you bastard!

I didn't want you,

I didn't love you!

I didn't!

I hated you!

You would have ruined my life because I wasn't made for this shit!

So don't you dare try and come into my head

With your tiny little fingers

And your

Tiny little toes.

And your silly, toothless smile

And your tiny button nose.

Don't even try it with me mister.

I wasn't ready for you.

And I know I cried when I saw the blood that day,

But don't you even for a second think that I was crying for you.

I was crying because the blood meant that my plan had worked

All the cocaine,

All the bruises on my belly,

All the cinnamon,

All the cheese...

The blood in my pants let me know that everything I did was not in vain.

It had worked.

And I was happy because this was what I wanted...

Right?

I wanted this, didn't I?

Stop!

Stop making me doubt myself.

How do you keep doing that??

I wanted it.

I know I wanted it.

And I'm happy.

I am happy.

I think.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

LP

I mainly write poems. Some might be a direct reflection of my personal life, whilst others might not be.

You decide

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.