Poets logo

Letter to an Old Friend

A Night Within

By Eddie J GrymPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Hello again, my oldest friend

the one that knows me well

whom I know is there to the end.

There is something I want to say

even when I want to fade

Maybe this is not the place

Yet it feels like no better time

No moment has been nice

No hardship has been welcome

We grew together and then apart

But this time I came to apologize

from the deep well that is my heart

This moment has been my dread

since the moment we met

The one thing that enslaves my head

through my mind I fear to fret

Shoved you away I have,

oh the fool I was

My spirit was clean,

and my mind at ease

What felt like at eternity

My resting soul in peace

To imagine a life so good

one where I never met you

But things took a turn,

one, where I came back to you.

Hello again, my hated friend

I’ve come to stay in your cold grasp

This time you found me

And this time, until the end.

-E J Grym

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Eddie J Grym

I have been creating stories for fifteen years now, but have only been writing since 2014. I enjoy the craft that is to spell the adventures of the mind into sentences and pages to share these journeys with others.

Twitter & IG: @ejgrym

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.