Poets logo

Let's Talk About Death

Do I really need one?

By College StudentPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

To me, there's only one certainty of this world. Death. Your existence is only guaranteed when you consider yourself you, maybe in another world, you would have been called Kevin (if your name is Kevin, then you're someone else) and you could hate all the things you love now. Would that still make you, you or would you be someone else?

Even if you don't believe it or agree with me, I'd like to believe that all humans at one point or another think about what they want to do with their lives. What they want to be remembered for and what they craft their existence around because if no one remembers us, were we even here to begin with? Did we even have any true relations, friends, occupations, or was it all a dream? Are we simply here as a single fading moment or can we actually influence our time and time everlasting (the future)? Or we will simply fade into the pages of history as a name and a list of achievements rather than actual human beings who were here, who were loved; who were wanted, needed, and needed others.

Death is an eventuality. You can run from it with medicine, laugh at it with death-defying risks, and plead on your deathbed, but eventually, you'll have to say goodbye. Goodbye to nothing and everything, to those you've loved and those you've hated, those who made you smile and those who you regret meeting.

Maybe that's why in fantasy books, science fiction, myths, and the like, we have immortals and they influence the lives of the characters in one way or another. Maybe that's why we as humans have a need, a desire for a higher power, so we have someone or something that will remember us, not for our achievements or crimes but as a human being. Maybe that's why we want an afterlife, so we can see the ones we loved but had to let go. An afterlife that can reaffirm our desire for coexistence and our need to be social. When we finally arrive at the afterlife, we can see the ones we've loved and say, "I never forgot you but I didn't die to be with you. I lived my life, so I can hear someone say that to me. So that I can't be forgotten."

Maybe I'm pessimistic, maybe I'm an existentialist, maybe I'm just looking for the positives in human beings because although I'm a human being, I often feel like an observer. I feel like I'm fading away and all my attempts at making a mark on this world were for naught and this is naught. Or not.

Maybe I just am philosophical but one thing I'm certain is that whether intentional or not, we humans can be the cruelest of creatures. The beauty of the beholder in one moment and the moment they turn away we become the monster in the closest.

Ah, woe is me in my grief;

I cry to make myself heard and I scream my silence out loud.

Am I a Bird Set Free,

Or am I simply a Cheap Thrill.

Woe is me, for my tears are the waters of the world and my pain the land.

Like agony, I bloom in at his touch and relish his song.

I call his name with passion and pain in a beautiful symphony that had never been heard before.

He is my only friend and only guest.

He is DEATH.

Was that depressing enough? I certainly think it does but it also lacks a flair.

How about this:

He is Defiant;

He is Existence in its simplicity;

He is Apathetic to our wants and needs;

He is Territorial by right of the world;

He is the Home we all yearn for but never seem to find until the end.

He is our beloved DEATH

AND WE ARE HIS now matter how much we deny it.

PeRfeCt

BYE!!!!!

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

College Student

Sometime being anonymous is fun. You can say things that you normally can't say.

Just because I'm anonymous does not mean squat when it comes to my writing, it's just my online safety-hoodie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.