Poets logo

Let's talk about Autism and social anxiety

at concerts

By Jeremy WhitePublished 21 days ago 1 min read
2
Let's talk about Autism and social anxiety
Photo by Vishnu R Nair on Unsplash

I have been to a lot of concerts

The past year and a half.

This last concert I noticed something.

I noticed because this

Concert was different.

I did a meet and greet

With the artist.

I actually spoke to them

And had the opportunity

To give them a part of

An article I wrote.

It was about them.

This was a big win for someone

With autism and social anxiety.

There was a loss because

I didn’t have the confidence

To ask my question.

I was right up front

And it was a small crowd.

I should have noticed it

Earlier because I have

Been in a much bigger

‘Standing room only crowds.

This one had maybe 100

People there and

About only 40 on the floor.

I noticed at a concert I can

Be shoulder to shoulder

With people and not

Be uncomfortable.

I can have conversations

With strangers and be OK.

I don’t know why

Concerts are different.

Maybe it is because we

Are there for one purpose

To enjoy the performance

And to have a good time.

What are some things

That you wouldn't normally

Be able to do

But in certain situations

You can.

Mental Health
2

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran20 days ago

    I have severe social anxiety and just going out of my house gives ne panic attacks at times because I'm an agoraphobic as well. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.