Poets logo

Let Me Tell You Now

while I can still explain

By Judey Kalchik Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 2 min read
13
Let Me Tell You Now
Photo by Valeria Bold on Unsplash

When I am old

please use the hoarded and pristine bottle

-the lily of the valley lotion-

to ease the ache in my hands

and remind my feet

that I once could run, dance, and gambol all day.

~

Put a dab on my nose, please.

It calls to that young girl

captivated by high school copies

of out of date Seventeen magazines

scratching and sniffing the cardboard samples

deciding between Loves Baby Soft

and the sophistication of Jean Nate'.

Then discovering Muguet des Bois

and finding herself before she knew what lost was.

~

You'll find bottles thick with dust

survivors of purges past

tucked away in narrow shelves

faced with the mirror

that does me no more favors

and now returns fact not dreams and hopes.

Move past the rose scents

because roses now mean heartbreak and sorrow.

You'll see violet scents carefully hoarded

memories of Avon routes trudged

and pocket money squirreled away,

alongside Mother's Day nosegays gathered

from the edges of the city park.

~

It's the light and crisp lily-bell smell

that I'll crave; this I'm sure

so pass by the others in the liquid bouquet

and anoint the thin skin with valley-lilies.

Rub just enough to bring the glow

that once spoke of eagerness

and health, and banish the ache

that curls the fingers of hands

that are losing the grip on time.

~

Don't spare the drops

shake the bottles and use it all

what else will I do with it?

Why ever have I kept it so long,

but to perfume the air when

my spirit once again joins the

endless possibilities that young girl

once sensed and dreamt would be her own.

~

Let me meet eternity

bearing the aura of the Lily of the Woods.

Bespoke by dew and cold spring mornings

shot glasses crammed full haphazardly

with thin green stems

white precious bells pealing out promise

that the world returns to life

and the scent that beckons an adventurer

to lean close, then closer still

to find the hidden secrets and plunge

their hands into the spreading leaves

heeding the floral siren's call

to sit and rest a bit

before rejoining the journey.

~

Send me on that last journey

leaving the scent behind me

to show the way.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

No longer made, this bottle, similar to my teenage memories, now goes for $70-$300 online.

Comments welcome: What scent triggers your memories?

Stream of ConsciousnessProseFree Verse
13

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    It's the pictures that bring nostalgia to me. I once found a tiny bottle of perfume, I have the empty bottle somewhere, Never could find it anywhere after that. I loved the scent though. Beautiful memories.

  • Ah, the sense memories of smell, how they take us back. Achingly wistful, Judey.

  • Oh wow, I didn't know was nosegay was until today. Learnt something new from you! Your poem was so emotional and touching. I loved it! Hmmm not sure if I have a scent that would trigger my memories though. I gotta think about it hehehe

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 months ago

    Judey this is beautiful. Written so well. ❤

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    I can so relate...on all those levels, hopes, and dreams.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Exquisitely written & loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Oh so beautiful, Ms Kalchik! Loved it. Scents for me that trigger memories are any sorta tomato, garlic and onion Italian sauce...the scent of dough...ginger from Ginger Square cake pieces. Erm, so many. Iknow that's not the scents you were possibly meaning...but that's what I have!

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    I don’t think they put perfume scent in magazines anymore??? This poem took me back in time ❤️

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    This is so profound, beautiful, and moving, Judey. I re-read this line a few times - I found it striking: "faced with the mirror / that does me no more favors / and now returns fact not dreams and hopes." This piece will stick with me for a while.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.