Poets logo

Let Go

...

By T. LichtPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
Let Go
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

"Let go," I whisper.

"I can't."

"You Could. You just won't because then you'll cry."

"I never cry."

"So let go. Please."

"No."

"Look at your hands, they're blistery and bloody. It will hurt more if you hold on.

Let

Go

I'll cry for you."

"Please stop."

"No."

Silence,

Teeth-barring silence.

More agonizing silence.

"Please." I beg.

"Stop!"

"No, I can't. I can't watch you struggle. Please, I promise... I promise...

in horror I realize I have nothing to promise.

"See?"

"See what?"

"You have nothing to say."

I do, let go, but I'm silent.

Teeth-barring silence.

More agonizing silence. then:

"Why?"

"Why What?"

"Why all this? Look at you? What would happen if for once you let yourself breath, relax, live like anyone else?"

"I'd die."

"Why do you think so?"

"Because I've already tried."

Mental HealthFree Verse

About the Creator

T. Licht

I have a love for words and a love to share them.

Well then, enjoy and thank you for taking the time to read this and maybe if you want subscribe;)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Andrea Corwin 10 days ago

    Oh no, that ending is so surprising!

  • T. you nicely done it.

  • angela hepworth10 days ago

    This was amazing work! You express so much in so few words.

T. LichtWritten by T. Licht

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.