Poets logo

Let Go of the World

No More Needs

By The Girl in GreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
10/29/2021

The last drip of my mortality bled onto the concrete

I said goodbye to the life that bound my feet

Lost between monstrous lies so discreet

I had no choice but to murder my needs

There was a time my heart made music

And now, I lie that sound to rest

From all the souls that drained and used it

I found the end was for the best

I traded my safety for these creations

Watching in solace from skyscrapers

Down onto those souls casting abominations

My angel screamed, but I couldn't save her

I did what I had to in order to keep her safe

She weeps in her slumber, that innocent girl

I hid from them all the monster they made

Just so I could let go of the world

-Chayle

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.