Poets logo

Laying in Bed

The Pinterest Chronicles

By E. Louise SullivanPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
The moon in the morning

I lay in bed and look at ways that I could be moving

I lay in bed because that's safe

No one can comment or intimidate

No one here to tell me, "stop moving"

If I stay still,

what could they say?

No one's here

So here, I lay

No one's here

Pinterest sparks my interest and by that I mean

It holds them

And by the looks of it

Pinterest is strong

I have a lot of dreams

Clothing, decor, lake house, travel, my "future goals"

Future dreams

Pipe dreams

Rather, dreams of pipes

Of my voice, his body

My voice, my choice

Or is it really?

"boards" to house my excitement

And escape from reality

When I'm bored, the boards get me through

"I'll pin it"

One day, maybe, one day, forget it

Am I this, or is this who I want to be?

I know I'm who I need to be

First

Anything thereafter is an unlikely gift from God

And well, I do like clothes

But laying bed

Staring at all of these

Virtually real impossibilities

does me nothing

But reminds me

of my false sense of liberty

Switzerland, Ireland, all the lands

They can still call me

Or better yet, shoot me a text

And I'll minimize my golden dreams

"can't make it sorry" send.

"why"

"busy" send.

The end.

Pain free.

Now let me buy more clothing

The one facet of the gem that is "my ideal me"

And I can have it comment free

Travel, work out, eat healthily... Eh

At least I can buy clothes while I lay here in bed

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

E. Louise Sullivan

21 | NY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.