Poets logo

Laundry Mat

I Write as the Clothes Turn

By Hayley M. MoonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Laundry Mat
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Swish, filthy colors swirl before me each piece fighting for a glimpse out the small oval window.

Solace is found in the steady rhythm of the stainless steel boxes. I am fascinated, comforted by the mundane but tiring task.

Solitude is what I find in the small crowd of eager individuals different creeds and colors under one roof, only one objective in mind.

Silently they go about their tasks isolated at the speckled folding tables.

Sharp and uncomfortable and abrasive is the noise the chair utters against the worn desert colored tile. It doesn't want to be forgotten.

Silly is what I feel, carefree and child-like as I pen this here.

Here of all places.

inspirationalsad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hayley M. Moon

Hello,

I am a poet, writer, and voice actress.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.