Poets logo

Laundry

A Poem

By EJ FergusonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
8
Laundry
Photo by Daniel Spase on Unsplash

I have been inside for too long.

I forgot what the sky looked like.

Can't remember the last time I looked up

Except for eye rolls at the latest thing to go wrong

Inside is electric and stale, suffocating

Lifeless as a cobweb with the spider gone

It's been that way for a while

And I have been inside for too long

I went out to hang laundry in the sun

I shook little spiders from the pegs

Brushed aside the sticky new webs

There because I have been inside for too long

Silky bare feet on calloused patio stones

Weeds sprouting, pushing up between toes

Something in me is sick and bone-tired

And I have been inside for too long

The cat was out, meowing at magpies.

I stopped to watch her and caught sight of those skies

I had forgotten for a while

When I saw them again they were endless

Hungry greys and an apricot blush

All the way to nowhere

and me, eyes wide, spellbound,

Aching for air because I've been inside for

too long

too long

too long.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

EJ Ferguson

EJ Ferguson is a UK-based writer and occasional poet. She holds a BA in Creative Writing from University of South Wales, and is perpetually working on a debut novel. She is often found buried beneath soft blankets and two enormous cats.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Lori Lamothe2 years ago

    I love your use of repetition and the gorgeous imagery here.

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Really grounding poem. Calm and earthy. 👍

  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    Great read.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Outstanding!!!💕

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was a gorgeous poem! And so very relatable. I loved your word choices, well done :)

  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    Wow, this was beautiful and bittersweet! Great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.