Poets logo

Laughing Gas

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

We didn’t make plans, so sorry if I’ve shown up.

I can’t control my heart, so forgive me if it’s glown up.

I’d say that I miss you, but my mouth is all sewn up.

I’m a ticking time-bomb,

Can’t help the times I’ve blown up.

I may be too much, but know damn well I’m enough.

I’m getting to know myself, because we’ve been out of touch.

I’m still hoping that one day, I’ll be someone’s crush.

I can’t feel a thing prescribed on these drugs.

I think I’d know sweet if there’s hardly a taste.

I’ve got to get you out of my system without a singular trace.

I’m breathing the laughing gas with a smile on my face.

I’ve undergone detox, because there was no time to waste.

Place me all the way under before I’m turned inside out.

I’ll never wear a cross unless it comes upside down.

Another man’s treasure is in the lost and found.

I’m laughing so hard that I just roll around.

No one understands ya’, I guess I’m sorry that I tried to.

Now I’m the only one that I apologize to.

If you cut out your heart for me, expect to cut out your eyes too.

I’m quite familiar with the truth,

Aware of all of the lies too.

If laughing gas were always free

Every day I’d be slapping my knee.

I huff on my mask until I look sicker.

Bury me in a box with a happy-face sticker.

I’m not perfect, so I’m sorry if I screw up.

I thought I buried the past, somehow it was just all drew up.

Laughing gas is numbing, before reality begins to brew up.

Everything that made me sick was the hardest thing I threw up.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.