Poets logo

Laterally Thinking

This is for the Vocal "Dancing with Distraction" Acrostic Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
17
A Nightcafe Creation By The Author

I really didn't think I would be able to do this, and after reading you may agree with me, but you can listen to this brilliant record by Sniff 'n' The Tears so that must be a little compensation.

The Prompt

Write an acrostic using the word distraction.

Read all about it here

πŸ’ΏπŸ“€πŸ‘οΈβ“πŸ‘οΈπŸ“€πŸ’Ώ

"Driver's Seat" Came On The Player

I Really Like Sniff 'n' The Tears

So, I'll Build Layer By Layer

To Write A Poem, I'll Be Clear.

πŸ‘οΈβ“πŸ‘οΈ

Really I'm Easy To Distract

And I Let My Mind Wander Off

Can I Remember Simple Facts?

This Is Another Distraction

πŸ‘οΈβ“πŸ‘οΈ

I'm Always So Easily Led

Only Time'll Tell If I'll Succeed

Not This Time Though, My Work Is Dead

πŸ’ΏπŸ“€πŸ‘οΈβ“πŸ‘οΈπŸ“€πŸ’Ώ

slam poetry
17

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Great acrostic poem Mike. Great entry for the challenge 😎

  • My attention span is terribly short, lol. Loved your poem!

  • I'm sorry, I got distracted & missed the last of that. (No I didn't. I'm OCD. I'm not that easily distracted, lol! Great job.)

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Never heard of the band...interesting, not bad. Funny you doubted your ability to rise to this challenge...you were the first person I thought of last night when I saw the challenge initially. I was not disappointed. Well done. :)

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Well done. I remember this song.

  • Fantastic poem, and my favorite new song of the week. This was an expertly composed take on the challenge. Well done!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    A little jiving here on Vocal, alright (Love that song) Great job on this challenge, effortless skill

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    First, there is a band called Sniff n the tears? Am so behind in such things. I see what you did. Tell us it is terrible, then it turns out really great. I see you Mikey. 😎.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Excellent poem to the Challenge πŸ₯°

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.