Poets logo

Late night thoughts

Entry for Poppy's prompts

By Tressa RosePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
7
Late night thoughts
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

In response to Poppy’s January prompts. Check out the link below!

It’s 2 a.m.
Super late, or is it super early rather?
Insomnia at it's peak
Can't sleep, feeling weak,
Staring at the bullet holes in the door.

Thinking about my shitty patchwork
In this quilt of shame I've made.
Trying to piece back together what you broke,
Is like trying to put together a puzzle
When half of the pieces are upside down.

Confused at how, I'm aware that I'm the victim
In this situation,
Yet I'm the one who feels guilty,
Like it was my fault.

Then I remember what my mother used to tell me,
“You're resilient as a dandelion, don't you ever forget”.
And in that moment I decide you don't control me anymore,
I release the fear and pain of all that is you.

Forgiving myself for not walking away from you sooner,
Shedding pounds of shame
Like the shrinking of a Babushka doll
As she sheds to her most petite of sizes,
Free of all that added burden and weight.

inspirationalsad poetryMental Health
7

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Oooh this was incredibly well done! "this quilt of shame I've made" is an awesome line! I love the simile of the dandelion's resilience and these two lines: "Shedding pounds of shame Like the shrinking of a Babushka doll" This entire poem is just so well crafted!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Brilliantly & beautifully written!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Trying to piece back together what you broke, Is like trying to put together a puzzle When half of the pieces are upside down. These lines hit me so hard! Your poem was so poignantly beautiful!

  • So cleverly written with all five prompts. “ Then I remember what my mother used to tell me, “You're resilient as a dandelion, don't you ever forget”. And in that moment I decide you don't control me anymore, I release the fear and pain of all that is you.” What a wise mother… so true!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Terrific. Free that fear! Great job Tressa. 😊👍

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Sad, yet beautifully written. Well done.

  • Test4 months ago

    I sincerely hope this is non fiction (Or at least the end part) So well done Tressa and so sad bu hopeful at the same time 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.