Poets logo

Late-night

Dream

By Anxious Little RockPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I found myself burning

All the masks I'd sewn onto my face

The world started looking at me

Like I was contagious

I’d finally broken free

From what they demanded I become

I started to listen to my heart

Dancing to my own beat

To music no one could hear

It became so loud, so lonely at the same time

Afraid of how every move

Every misstep would be absorbed

I stopped looking for validation

In every broken mirror

Except the one I was holding

Breaking all the molds of the past

Running as fast as I could

Chasing after a late-night dream

She dreams in black and white sprinkled in color

I couldn’t escape the taste of glitter on everything

How it skewed every thought I had

How, when would it go too far?

She was both fire and water

All mixed in a full wine glass

Grab it too fast and you’ll get burned

Or ruin your favorite shirt

She’ll be the air that escapes your lungs

When the fire is too hot

And the hydration you need

When there’s no more water

Just a late-night dream

Drowned in red wine

When white would have done

And left less of a mess

But there’s no fun in chasing a dream

Or choosing what color stains best

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Anxious Little Rock

Writing to free myself from years of never sharing my voice. I was always the girl with the quiet confusing stare. Lost in thought, always questioning when I would ever belong. Always misunderstood.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    This is a beautiful piece. I'd like to read more of your work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.