Poets logo

Last Summer...

But I don’t remember

By Valerie Akiko Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

This hot humid sweat I can not deny

Paloma in hand, a joint by my side;

Pretty pastel sky, clouds passing me by

Warm gentle breeze, what a nostalgic tide.

Soft music plays, as the day starts to fade;

Sweet sunset hues, a delicious soirée.

As minutes turn hours, it’s getting late

Flirtatious grins, I can not slip away

Talking with strangers, good nights and good byes,

Meaningless moments and memories die:

All that’s left is a headache and I try

To remember your face, your name, but why?

What have I saved but not a phone number?

Just an old lighter from that one summer

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Valerie Akiko

Low key behind the scenes Queen & mastermind behind @freakcityla

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.