Poets logo

Labor Day Dismay

What Are We Celebrating

By Earl W. PearlPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read

Of all the days we celebrate, is Labor Day the worst

The holiday reminding us our bills are due the 1st

The cost of living’s through the roof, I need a second job

Seems all my money after tax, inflation tends to rob

The Colorado outdoor life is said to be the best

But since I’m always working that’s a life I need to test

Our homes are over half a mil, most everybody rents

And lots of them have given up, just look at all the tents

It sucks the Californians have been flocking here like geese

It’s sorta like that virus that you fear will never cease

I’d love a mountain cabin breathing air that’s pure and clear

But circumstances indicate I’m not retiring here

Yeah, this may be the holiday I tend to like the least

January’s New Years and November means we feast

In May we all remember all the soldiers who have died

While Labor Day reminds me I need money put aside

But I’ll enjoy this holiday, at least I’m not at work

Tho Monday soon enough will end as Tuesday starts to lurk

Each year we’re done with Labor Day, it’s put back on the shelves

Cos we all gotta get to work, those bills don’t pay themselves

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    When I think of Labor Day, I don’t think of work or bills. It’s my day off. It’s time for fun. This day does not get taking from my sick leave or day of pay leave. I get time and a half for this holiday . 😉🙂🥳

Earl W. PearlWritten by Earl W. Pearl

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.