Poets logo

Know Better

What’s the matter?

By Andrew WallacePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Post Office Parking Lot

Know better.

I no longer wish to know better.

It’s never made me long for less.

I know longer bodies don’t protect.

I know we all got long until what’s gone is left.

When I no longer ponder I’ll lose all my sense.

The sentiment of every lesson spent.

Every memory and pencil piece and ten percent of every catchy beat ever let defeat ya less than ten percent.

Batteries are meant to end.

We build towers to last hours when instead we should’ve flowered and surrounded the delicate sounds of our seconds left.

Let me take a second breath, reflect on how my final step gets impress.

If it happen then correct is just perspective, no ones score is kept.

Even Kill bill becomes an artifact that no one checks.

The truth is our existence isn’t fairly fetched.

So far dogs get to heaven better- if I’m-dead-

It’s expected.

I don’t dread sudden endings.

Put me in chess sets and set me up special.

With check from the jump.

And no bad intention.

Everyone winnin n’ain’t nobody offended.

Now that i’m a ghost I suppose I know the most.

That’s just how it goes, wisdom gets juxtaposed.

Just because you write doesn’t mean that you show.

A poet left alone is unknown but guess that’s just how it goes.

I could grow to a stone but never throw away my soul.

Questions better best and betting don’t leave a dent.

If I had a pen it still would bleed through my chest.

So I had to say it just to be said and left to rest.

The rest can know better.

Or show clever.

Or grow never.

Until I’ve wrestled every precious bone I‘m blessed with.

Just to get to heaven.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Wallace

@andrewnotlogan for Instagram and Twitter.

I’m hoping to profit from my existential dread. Maybe if I write something ~you~ find worth while my life will somehow transcend my mortal body and I’ll live on forever... but probably not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.