Poets logo

King of Blue and Grey

poem

By Khalida ParveenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
King of Blue and Grey
Photo by Dayne Topkin on Unsplash

Before you went after the "forever"s in this paper,

It used to be my own little paradise.

I'd write about my favourite lullaby of the pied piper,

How I used to love your cherry sweet lies.

On these torn pieces lie how I used to spend my nights,

How, each time I asked you to save me,

You rushed through the dark and made it right,

Hurt me even more but called me baby.

You tore an inky souvenir of the love maze,

We used to play hide and seek there,

It was always you running in a continuous chase,

I still see a green oblivion of a nightmare.

This paper had on it, my own waltz note.

I remember the sink of your dimples,

When you gave me permission to dance into your world,

With a guide of the mischief in your eyes.

The euphoria has faded, I know, but I'm fine,

It wasn't as easy as flipping a page,

But now your voice doesn't even rile a butterfly,

Maybe I'm a good distance away from your cage.

If you find pieces big enough to put together,

If these poems end up with you one day,

Keep them like a memory of a battered picture,

Know that'll you'll forever be the king of blue and grey.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.