Poets logo

Kindled Spirits

Love by Firelight

By Kyra ChambersPublished 2 years ago β€’ 1 min read
10
Kindled Spirits
Photo by Annerose Walz on Unsplash

I knew you before you were mine

When you belonged to another

For the world was not ready

To be tilted

Shifted into a new dimension

Cracked open by new truth

Red as the sunset

As the lights that colour the dance floor at our feet.

* * *

I thought I knew you

Your intimate soul told by wagging tongues

Meant as cautionary tales

Scheherazade of Sins

When I returned from long travels and caught up with the stories.

Forged in the crucible of failed love

Knowing more of my own worth

Seeking a flame to match my own

A true conflagration

Not the false heat of the electric heater love of the past

Where a broken fuse burned all down around me.

* * *

But I did not seek you still

So was unprepared

For the night your eyes met mine

And the world tilted

Shifted

And I was reborn in your eyes and you in mine

As the lights shifted red and words

Would not fall from my lips

To tell you my new truth as I looked into your eyes and whispered

Happy birthday.

* * *

Years later

The silver lines my hair and peppers your beard,

We are older

I am no wiser

When every day I look into your eyes

And see you anew

And love springs from the weathered stones of our marriage.

Love born from the spark of your eyes as they meet mine

Remembering the right the world shifted.

Flame coloured roses

Kindled Souls.



love poems
10

About the Creator

Kyra Chambers

Autistic (PDA) & Neurodivergent writer.

Vocal Plus Fiction Awards Finalist.

Find my full article list at The Chambers Chronicles

Tips/Subs appreciated but never expected.

***

Please check out my Linktree!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Amazingly powerful and heartfelt poem. The feelings you conveyed were almost tangible. Great job!

  • This is absolutely an amazing poem. Well written, original, and very interesting choice of words. I really like this poem. Great Job Kyra.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely!!! Loving itπŸ’–πŸ’•

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was stunning! What a beautiful love poem, great work!

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    This is so gorgeous! Thank you for sharing it. 🌺

  • Absolutely beautiful words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.