Poets logo

Kids Play

What kind of play do they do today?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Kids Play
Photo by Keren Fedida on Unsplash

See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil

or is it simply, who's the monkey still

Is it race cars

or is it going to bars

acting drunk

or being taunted about being John Skunk

Kids play is different than it was say

in the fifties and sixties when I was a youngster, hey

and what about in the seventies and eighties when it was my kids play

my daughter announced that growing up her and her brother

would play AA and Mary Kay and what a proud mother

I was when she proclaimed that at an alateen open speaker meeting

House and school was popular when I was growing up, and it may still be

my husband remembers westerns and tarzan as he would tease his baby sister about being cheetah, the monkey

he remembers having rifle mans gun, and a sawed off rifle of someone

I didn't remember who that was, probably as I am way younger for this one.

So who were your playmates and what did you play growing up?

I bet you can't not think about this right now. Just a little hiccup.

And what kind of play do kids do today?

I have grandchildren that play on their tablet, their phone, their computer most of the day.

They shoot baskets, and do their chores,

clean up and cook, maybe make s'mores.

I don't see the play that I used to see at one time.

The games are all online.

My hubby refers to technology as the sissy box, meaning that they will be turned into sissies if they spend too much time on them.

Kids play is important as they learn so much from it and they can learn a lot from reading and writing too as I have with all my rhyming poem.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.