Poets logo

Impertinence

Rude or Too Confident or Bold

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
4
Impertinence
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Please don't take this rhyme as impertinence as I'm really trying to not be rude or too confident or bold

I've been told, maybe I'm just old

Here goes, praying to not step on toes

How can we have so much in common and I'm not talking ramen

I know nothing about you really

A day spent listening isn't enough clearly

Even though I secretly feel I know

Praying not to step on someone's toe.

Mom said, we need to be more like black people. They speak up, they gather together, they stick together. Our Indian people fight each other, we don't speak up and we don't support one another.

Wait, it can happen and does.

There is much buzz.

Impertinence is my word for today.

Great word for this rhyme wouldn't you say

Hoping it doesn't come across in that way.

Black is beautiful

Being black can be painful

Big and black

Stand back

Old and black

I've lived through too much attack

I'm tired

I'm retired

I'll do what I can

I can be the man

Speaking up is what I do

I sometimes don't like me or you

I hear you as I've said this too.

Some days are tough

I know it can be rough

I can say more at this age

As a grey panther said

After all, what can they do, I'm almost dead.

At this stage I say move along

Belong

Be there for friends, family, my people

Trying not to be feeble or living in the prequel

I can still protest in a calmer way

Making small changes I say

It won't be long

Its not wrong

For now I can be strong.

Black lives matter

Hear this, see this, it's not just chatter.

Love is the answer

Even when it's a cancer.

So hard to stand up, stand strong,

It takes all of us to see what's wrong.

With love we get peace. Impertinence, it's all around

I hope to have found

A way to get my message across today

In a loving and kind way.

(adapted from word for the day in 2018 just after attending a cultural diversity training)

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.