Poets logo

Keep Walking

Inspiration, motivation, encouragement - all that lovely stuff!

By Paul StewartPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Keep Walking
Photo by Mattia on Unsplash

Why do you really care?

When they stop and stare

If they spout their vile thoughts

Don't get your feelings in knots

Ignore. breathe, and forget

Their words of hurt and hate

May cause pain and may grate

For a while, but the problem is theirs

Hold your head up, avoid their glares

And keep walking

With them in your past

Where they belong

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Been a bit radio silent from the Paul Stewart. Stephen will have enjoyed the break, undoubtedly! (Insert various laughter emojis and stuff) I kid, I kid. Anyway, above is some inspiration, motivation and encouragement. I know it's not easy to do the above, but I also know you'll feel a lot better if you do it, when you're in that situation.

I hope you enjoyed my wordings.

Here are more:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

how tovintagesocial commentaryperformance poetrylistinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    Great advice! If I ever find myself sitting with intrusive thoughts of things people have spouted my way, or moments I wish I could erase, I just do a quick, fast exhale and imagine the intrusive thought/words/memory going with it. It helps. Anyway, love this piece and your wisdom here!

  • Sage counsel, Paul. As others have already indicated, perhaps not easy to practice, but still mighty sage counsel.

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    I like this. But yeah hard to practise ..sometimes we are better at it than other times..I also think, like your poem suggests, their vitriol or whatever it is in the past says more about them than it does about us! ☺️👏👏

  • Great job… I feel sorry for the haters… can’t be pleasant living such bitter lives.

  • Ignore the haters and keep going. I loved that Sir Paul! 🍩🥐

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    💙💚🖤💜

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Yeah, no prolem with this one for me. Let 'em talk. Good advice, pal!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Definitely a good way to be.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.