Poets logo

Juxtapose!

A poem by Teri LaBuwi

By Teri LaBuwiPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Juxtapose!
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Time changes all things, for better or worse

old memories forgotten, and vice a verse.

Some things destroyed have become anew.

I wonder whatever happened to you?

Remember barhopping?

Speeding along, deserted, winding roads,

and waiting in line together to see a show.

Sorry, now my bedtime is 9 pm.

Gridlock and road rage are exhausting, and

I’m waiting to be vaccinated, you know.

We used to walk together, whispering of boys

and imagining they were sweet...

My knee is acting up; I proudly

middle-finger saluted the man

who wouldn’t offer up his seat.

Our bikes had coaster brakes! Innocent fun.

We played ping pong; or

read epic novels under the trees.

“Electric Segue Blamed for Deadly Crash.”

“Video Gamer Plots School Shooting.”

There’s Twitter memes from all of these.

Remember that varsity letter sweater,

badminton player?

You’ll never guess now…

I’m a candidate for a hip replacement.

(pills / icepacks / owwww)

Your 17th birthday! Recall

that ice-cream parlor trip.

Banana splits - what a treat!

I know just the place for low-fat froyo.

If they’re open, want to meet?

Endless busy signals — frantically trying to dial!

I’m texting now to tell you your voice mailbox is full.

Sneaking around town,

discovering new hideouts,

to share stolen wine.

Did you hear so-and-so’s in a 12-step program?

Do you know if she’s fine?

The smell of our percolator in the kitchen.

The Starbucks nearby?

It’s over my budget and

the calorie count’s high.

My father grew vegetables in our backyard

and salads were heavenly!

My figure was trim.

Day-old kits are on sale at Safeway, and

the number on my scale is grim.

Remember Friday allowance?

Being dropped at the mall?

Spending our fortunes, giggling, photo booths.

I’m waiting on stimulus checks,

scanning Megan’s List for predators, and

trying to find a decent filter for Zoom.

Your car had hand-crank windows and no air!

We could feel the breeze, hear the birdsong.

I’ve got a temp-controlled steering wheel warmer,

and a car wash subscription where the line is long.

Shared cigarettes!

Pockets of loose change!

Slow dancing so close.

Will we ever again?

Fear of AIDS, concealed weapons, and six-foot radii.

I no longer take planes.

Our lives compared, side by side

as the old meets the new.

We talk on a screen and

try to recall the many fine things

that we used to do.

Oh how I wish for old times sake -

just one more time before too late

May I come see you?

vintage
1

About the Creator

Teri LaBuwi

Teri LaBuwi is a talented multi-media artist, writer, and poet from Northern Virginia, where she has also made a name for herself as a successful real estate broker and consultant. Some of her works are displayed online.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.