Poets logo

Just You and I

A ZaniLa Rhyme

By Chloë J.Published about a year ago 1 min read
3
Just You and I
Photo by tabitha turner on Unsplash

Brush off the tear and pretend I’m fine;

you’ll pretend to believe me,

How sweetly we lie, just you and I,

Deception-shrouded captivity.

//

Brush back your hair, while it’s still soap-damp,

My fingers loved to linger,

Just you and I, how sweetly we lie,

Should I take the ring off my finger?

//

Brush off the joke, like it doesn’t hurt,

Like you didn’t mean it to;

How sweetly we lie, just you and I,

In my bed’s a stranger I once knew.

//

Brush on the paint like I used to do,

But the canvas won’t bare me.

Just you and I, how sweetly we lie,

Trading mistruths for eternity.

///

sad poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    This is a challenging poetic form and you have mastered it to paint an emotionally layered narrative. I am in awe.

  • ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.