Poets logo

the art of abiding

I’m trying to learn

By Chloë J.Published about a year ago 1 min read
3
the art of abiding
Photo by Jakub Kriz on Unsplash

and just like that, I woke up—

rubbing the Sandman’s butterfly kisses out of my eyes,

the residue tinged with regret

(but I couldn’t seem to flush it out).

I blinked, when once again I could.

once.

twice.

and once more in obligation.

I looked around at my home of a year

and realized;

I forgot to move in,

to

settle

into my life.

I declared it would be a stopping point-

I’m on my way to somewhere better.

except I guess I wasn’t.

so I sleep-walked a year away.

what is the half-life of regret?

if I find out, I’ll let you know.

how far is too far along the road to turn back?

and why does shame make the foot so heavy?

will pride even give me a choice?

it doesn’t want to.

can I make it?

I’ve never been a girl who knew how to unpack her bags,

how to stay.

disgustingly, annoyingly cliché; but true. drowning-me true. no-bridges-left-to-burn true.

but I think I’m ready to learn now.

how to stay.

I have to learn, or what will become of me?

I am a forgotten balloon.

I can feel myself drifting away,

so out of place,

and in need of anchoring.

desperate,

before the vast emptiness swallows me.

starting from within.

someone bring me back down to earth,

please,

I don’t know how not to be temporary.

maybe,

I’ll start by hanging a picture on my wall.

inspirationalsad poetryfact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.