Poets logo

Just the Girls

The Lady Mafia

By Adaline ArcherPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Just the Girls
Photo by John Schnobrich on Unsplash

So I met these girls. These girls that I don’t know. I don’t know who they are, where they’re from, or what they do. I do know that they accept me. They don’t care who I am, where I’m from, or what I’ve done.

I’ve never had a good relationship with girls. Girls always judged me, laughed at me, tormented me. Girls are the real evil in the world. Or at least that’s what I thought until I met these girls. They don’t judge, they don’t laugh, they don’t torment. There is only understanding and admiration. They make me feel as though I can be accepted for who I am, as though they will not hurt me. They are my safe place. I can share all and not worry about what they will say or how they react. I can tell them things I have never told my friends, my family, my closest confidant, for they are there for me.

I applied to a job, and I didn’t get it. I was really excited for this job, I though I went above and beyond for qualifications. Turns out I didn’t, there are always more qualified people out there. I told my parents and they told me that I was better off, the job wasn’t suited to me anyways, I needed to find a different job. I told these girls I didn’t get the job and you know what they told me? It’s going to be okay, you’ll get the next one, its their loss. They didn’t tell me I wasn’t qualified or that I shouldn’t have been applying to that job in the first place. They were supportive, kind, and helpful. It may not seem like a lot, but it meant a lot to me. I finally have people in my corner, to understand me, to hype me up when I need it.

In most girl groups there is envy, passive aggression, drama, there is backstabbing, cat fights, and betrayal. With these girls it’s easy, no drama, no betrayal. Just there to talk to if you need someone to listen. These are just the girls I’ve been looking for.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Adaline Archer

Just a girl writing about the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.