Poets logo

Just read it

Or don’t

By anthony giglioPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Watch movies to format a truth

that is anything but

Why when the truth is the reflection of you?

Then you wouldn’t be the victim, huh?

Left alone, for dead, in holes so deep

Cause you’re scared of yourself

Maybe atone, fix your head; I know how much you also wept

I’ve had open arms since day one

You’ve embellished and created my scope

You augmented the past to blame everyone else

Responsibility for anything is not a process you’re willing to know

Yes, I was an abomination

You weren’t better in any way

You’ll follow anyone

That justifies what you say

You’re just playing children’s games

With my life in your hands

In your silence, you also called me names

We’re both holding the contraband

Still, you’re me

I’m you

I don’t, but you should see

My love for you is always honest and true

Please stop the attention seeking

Take any accountability

You’ve kept every vein of mine bleeding

As you sit in therapy and speak lie after lie

You have been pure

Is that your statement?

While I lie fetal, drenched in tears, and lifeless on the floor

Just for your entertainment

I told you I had no one on the first day

You told me I’d be safe in your heart

Though all you were planning was on having my heart and my hope erased

Thank you at least for showing me the love I didn’t believe in before your mask slipped and I saw your true face

If I’m the problem

Why are you fucking around still?

Why didn’t you crush me and find the next victim?

I guess you’re just too greedy and haven’t yet had your fill

For your past, why do I owe their penance?

My arms are always open, waiting to catch you when you fall

My heart worked overtime for only your happiness

Your arms, away again, feeling stronger than ever, making sure to keep yourself and your truths small

I saw love in your eyes while you were on a path to terrorizing

I overreacted to your continued inaction

Now you pose in light after forcing my atrocities

I lack a voice to influence your compassion

So how high are you hanging your head alone in your tears?

Not a single thought of my heart’s constant decay?

You claim to be scared, hiding behind fabricated fears

It feels like your apex would be if you’re the reason I didn’t see another day, then fucking walk away

And still, I breathe, I weep, I hope, I dream of you and you alone

It would be easier if I didn’t so you could continue to blame yourself

Through adolescent grief, your apathy, your hoax, beating yourself to have your moment

I’m Sisu, and I implore you to do your worst and best me as much as you need while I stand in every breath, prepared to carry you to safety through hell

I won’t give up like as your claims of the others

You’ve pushed me so far now though

Making sure I can never live up to what that warped mind desires

Inactions in this exact instance and even with this minced heart, I have to go, so an hour ago, baby, it is time for you to show

I never want to

I only ever wanted you

We’re lost in an interlude

Take my hand, and together we can get through

You’re alone and the one who is “Sleeping with the enemy.”

Looking in the darkness for your justifications

If you weren’t only worried about yourself, you’d have known me

Be ”The rainmaker” if you please; I know when you’re caught in these lies, like always, you’ll just run

But still, I am going nowhere. I’ll be here.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

anthony giglio

I'd love to but, all my writing would be augmented to a persona in a way manipulated by my bio. If I say I am a saint, you'll either believe me or think the opposite. How bout you use your mind and decide who I am, then tell me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.