Poets logo

Just Pray

Drive through

By JayPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I was waiting in line at a fast food drive-through,

early evening, in South Florida.

Town was always quiet after five.

The sky was a’flame with oranges, reds and subtle grays.

I was thinking how I hadn’t been exercising, writing or meditating.

I sat in line, silently, criticizing myself

with these truths.

Then I said aloud “I don’t even pray any more.”

This the only statement spoken.

I exchanged money for food and pulled

out onto US1.

As I was accelerating out, a large, dated car

pulled in front of me and brake checked me, continuing to a stop.

Confused but not outraged I looked at the rear of the car, where a single

bumper sticker sat, between the left and right brake lights.

It was two hands pressed together

With the words “Just Pray”.

inspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jay

I’ve been writing since middle school! I found it is a great way to express self‘s darker or exaggerated sides and to distill a thought or concept. Also see: https://instagram.com/metaphor_poetry https://www.clickasnap.com/Jamesjcm1969

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.