Poets logo

just like that

poem.

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago β€’ Updated about a month ago β€’ 1 min read
just like that
Photo by Tim King on Unsplash

just like that, last night

you were gone and our whole world

felt dimmer, darker

*

we will move forward

and it will get easier

but, for now, we grieve

*

for all you gave us

your unforgettable smile

and genuineness

*

you were warm and kind

loved music, family, food

and you fought so hard

*

I'll never forget

that spirit and drive you had

to not just give in

*

we will always, and

when we say, always, we mean

we'll always - love you

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: For my Uncle Claudio that passed away last night, 23rd May, 2024.

Senryusad poetrylove poemsHaikuFamily

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (26)

  • Angie the Archivist πŸ“šπŸͺΆ23 days ago

    So very sorry Paul… your dear Uncle Claudio was obviously a great blessing to you all. Be gentle on yourself as you grieve.πŸ’œ

  • Christy Munson26 days ago

    Condolences, Paul, to you and the family

  • Gabriel Huizenga30 days ago

    I am so, so sorry for your loss Paul. This is a deeply beautiful tribute to your Uncle Claudio.

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    I am so sorry, Paul. Beautiful tribute poem!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Beautiful elegy, Paul. I’m sorry for your loss!

  • Mackenzie Davisabout a month ago

    Goodness, now I understand. I am so sorry, Paul. I just lost someone too, and there are more on the way. I can’t imagine your grief, even still. Beautiful tribute. πŸ’œ

  • Just to let you know this is a Raise Your Voice nomination by me

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”I’m so sorry, Paul, I know how it feels, friend! Blessing are flowing to you…. My over the rainbow ones visit me sometimes.

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    A truly touching tribute! Very sorry for your loss, Paul.

  • Belleabout a month ago

    A beautiful tribute. I am so sorry for your loss, Paul. I hope that you are surrounded by warmth and love, and that his memory never fades ❀️❀️

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    You've created a beautiful tribute here. This is a touching poem and oddly timed to my life too. I lost my father-in-law last night. How weird, right? Well, I'm so sorry for your loss. Take time for yourself! β™₯️

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    Poignant and powerful. I’m sorry for your loss β™₯️

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    This is lovely. I'm sorry for your loss. πŸ€—

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    Sincere condolences from our house to yours, Paul. Both of your tributes to him are a wonderful homage.

  • Heather Hublerabout a month ago

    This was incredibly touching. I'm so sorry for your loss. Sending hugs and love to your family.

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Sad to hear and read this. Sounds a great guy that fought a helluva a battle. πŸ˜”

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨about a month ago

    Sending love to you and your family, Paul πŸ€πŸ™

  • D. J. Reddallabout a month ago

    A lovely tribute--condolences for your loss, good sir.

  • Emil indwabout a month ago

    Sorry to hear about your uncle and I think this is a beautiful farewell poem:(

  • Sorry to hear that , but a good way to remember someone who meant something to you and others

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    Best way to express grief and its acknowledgement - write about it, get it out. Hugs to you and your folks.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oh nooooo 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 I'm so sorry for your loss Paul. I know how devastating it is. Sending you lots of love and hugs πŸ₯Ίβ€οΈ

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Nice Paul nice!

  • Gloria Penelopeabout a month ago

    Lovely poem, I enjoyed reading it.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Sorry for your lost of a family pet. Pets sure inspire us . The poem says how your pet touch your life

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.