Poets logo

Just Let Him Go

It is a weakness that lives inside me

By Nicole StairsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

All you will do now is bring him pain

Too much in my life to atone for

Do not bring him into this world

Where the only solace is sadness

-

I am weak, crying alone

Fate challenging my soul

Despondent by nature

And broken beyond repair

-

Let me have this numbness

This escape, it is all I deserve

Well earned and gratifying

It is all I have left that is mine

-

This shield I’ve made protects me

I always see it, know and touch it

Invisible and fierce and burning

No others are allowed to see

-

I cry in the quiet solitude

For it is easier this way

No one else’s heart gets broken

From what I do or words I speak

-

I must endure it alone

No man needs bear it with me

No man should share this grief

I know I need to just let him go

-

It is weakness to weep

It is time to tear apart my heart

As I’ve always done

Alone, and with no one

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Stairs

My sister says I'm haunted. Guess that's why they say "Write what you know". If I have to deal with it, dear reader, then so do you. I throw in the occasional sweet story, just for a palette cleanser...enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.