Poets logo

Still And Quiet Now

I cannot blink, for fear you fade

By Nicole StairsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Have we met before

In a life that was not our own

I cannot believe how I did stare

A figment of fevered mind

Created in a delirious stupor

Electricity popping in the air

I feel as though I have drunk

From the pools of eternity

Years before it was my time

Let me forever lay reflected

In your eyes so crystal blue

Drifting in peace so sublime

My tongue does press my lips

Never even having touched

I know how you must taste

You are too far away from me

Forever outside my reach

Breath and mind they do race

Time slows sweetly as you turn

Make your way through our divide

Wide and deep in this tiny room

I long for the fire of love

Desire to see it on your face

Fervent passion blessed to bloom

So it happens, I notice it

Your eyes do lock with mine

I hear your heart skip a beat

Your hand lightly lifts

Touching your beautiful chest

Trembling, thumping so sweet

All is still and quiet now

In this place we kindly share

Are you the one to cure my heart

Stepping ever closer to me

Your pace is focused, pure

Now us two no longer apart

My skin tingles with fresh hope

I cannot blink for fear you fade

Have we finally found our way

As you reach out to touch me

A beautiful smile lights your face

With you, close to me, always stay

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Stairs

My sister says I'm haunted. Guess that's why they say "Write what you know". If I have to deal with it, dear reader, then so do you. I throw in the occasional sweet story, just for a palette cleanser...enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.