Poets logo

Just Call Me Atlas

A Poem by Jaclyn Barrows

By Jackie BarrowsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
photo courtesy of WorldHistory.edu

You should be renamed Atlas,

The world rumbled upon my back;

Bits of rock, metal, fire, and glass

Crushing me down, causing me to crack,

Like that of thunder and lightning,

Striking me with guilt and shame on all fronts;

Meteors ripping into my flesh and frightening

Me with threats upon threats of mine and my world’s destruction all at once!

I juggle everything upon my wearied shoulders;

A prisoner of my own deceits.

My world grows heavier as I only get older

Can I handle it? Or will I suffer defeat?

Don’t give up, Atlas!

My world cries out, for it needs me so!

I cannot leave them behind, so I ask

For mercy and grace, that they may not be alone.

For they all have their struggles too…

I care so much for this world on my back,

No one comprehends as to why;

But the reason is this—yes, these are the facts!

I am a giver by nature, this is no lie.

Though it pains me to go without,

I sleep better at night knowing

That all who I care for are without a doubt

Able to keep moving… keep growing.

Still, I need to care for me, too…

We need you, Atlas!

My love for these people in my world will never cease.

But I must say—alas!

There is definite need for release.

Release from my burdens, that I may take care of myself, and thus

Take care of you.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Jackie Barrows

Jackie Barrows is an artist, a writer, and all around creative soul who enjoys bringing new ideas and stories to life. She wears many hats as a Graphic Designer, a blogger, and Lead Production Artist for R.A.W. Productions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.