Poets logo

Just because I'm Rwandan

A poem about struggles in Africa

By Jude ChukwuemekaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
Life in Rwanda

30,000 people cross the line

1 percent having arrived.

Those projections lack any credibility

The Rwandan child is crossing the Nile.

Having crossed this channel, I happy

How many more will cross out of the 99

Percent that are losing grip and hope

The idea that the next or the coming boat

May simply stop or sink

Is it because I'm Rwandan?

I'm not from a third country, nor from space

They send people in and out of my beloved land

How many will remain for the love of country?

The Times hopes to bring more miracles

Before the election

There may be no need for the black or white...

Just because I'm Rwandan doesn't mean

I have to continue living in pain

The lack isn't simply a matter of exaggerations

The deterrent effect isn't a simple matter

We await what the law says on the right

To fight for our lives

Though the men on top say there's no alternative

Only deterrent effects

Maybe we'll get to the UK or to the US

Even when we have crossed this channel

I will continue to be Rwandan.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jude Chukwuemeka

Writer, Editor, Reader. I write as I see fit. Lifestyle writing is my thing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.