Poets logo

The Knife That Killed My Friend

A Poem by Jude Chukwuemeka

By Jude ChukwuemekaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Knife That Killed My Friend
Photo by Norbert Buduczki on Unsplash

It's a hard sunny day

like any day no one should accuse anyone

I have just returned from the usual trip to Mars

where two of my other Loviles live

Now back to square num

before i heard the news that Bojangles

is dead

Oh my! What news? Is it for real?

that my friend of 25 years is gone

with the winds?

Follow through your mind on a river of pain

what can I take from those

who withold breath with a single stab of the knife?

Bojangles my Bo

so good with the palm kernels in the farm

so good with TikTok rapport

a friend who was good in rural sense

and mobile senses

is now gone...

When Bojangles retirned from the USA

he told me he would be a politician

and stop making a livelihood from farming

some day

when his sun shines

because that's how men regain sanity

he told me he's lost his sanity since the teenage

years

now must get back what man lost

Now he lost it all

Bojangles with flute sang songs for the ladies

but his enemies knew his whereabouts

his comings and goings

till the night when they tracked him down

Hyperion down on his knees

a life cut short in the long run...

Now we can only stare at Bojangles' lasting home

we who went with him to the airport years ago

and came back with him from the airport

just last week

Bojangles - my Bo

They said it's not the knife that killed him

he was ready to die

knife or gun, my friend is gone

Rest with the oars.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jude Chukwuemeka

Writer, Editor, Reader. I write as I see fit. Lifestyle writing is my thing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.