Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Just a Name

Another Paper to Change

By Bee JayPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1

Death and I dance together when the nights are a little too dark. We sometimes reminisce over the moments where I had fought the long, swinging end since childhood. She whispers of a kid who loved the trees anyway, reminds me of how I had purposely refused to learn knots for the simple relief of never relying on those muscled memories.

*

In some languages I am listed as a moderator, a strong combatant, hearty.

In others, summed to a simple meaning: to tie firmly, to bind.

In Greek I am the noose.

*

How stinging it is to find I cannot hide from something that is legally mine such as this, a paper trail that has followed me long before I could breathe. My parents having hand picked my own destructive irony without second thought.

*

In the early morning hours, I convince myself that this must be a running joke. A double entendre the heavens love to laugh at, for even my name is the rope I had tried so exhaustedly to run from.

nature poetrysad poetryhumorCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Bee Jay

Hold my hand, we're going on a ride. It might not be pretty, but maybe, just maybe it'll be worth it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    dark. Eerie and great! Good job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.