Poets logo

Just 15

Written by Kimiera

By Eagles Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I gave up on the world and I'm just 15

They made me grow up and I'm just 15

They ridiculed me for being a child

Now they reprimand me for living an adult life

Age 10, stealing kisses in the corner rooms

Age 11, wearing make up and trying to act cool

Age 12, chasing boys and running from the truth

Age 13, not eating for weeks because I did not look like the girls on my screen

Age 14, getting into Azhar and I didn't even need a push up bra

And now...? I'm just 15

20 year old in my DMs and I'm just 15

Waiters never ask for my ID... But I'm just 15

Facing a mid life crisis, 35 years too early

I listened to the world and now it did me dirty

Stop trying to grow up is what we're told

But how do we act innocent after we saw the world unfold

It's trendy to drink but we need to act our age

Go vape in the corner and make sure you're on display

Our at parties you have to engage

I'm just 15 and I'm stuck in a cage

I can't even reach the highest shelf

Yet you expect me to make decisions about economic wealth

I'm just 15 and I've felt it all

And I don't pay taxes or work a full time job

I can't reach the highest shelf and I still go to school

But the world told me to grow up and pay what's due

And you still expect me to act like a fool

I gave up on the world and I'm just 15

They made me grow up and I'm just 15

They ridiculed me for being a child

Now they reprimand me for living an adult life

Burnt out and I'm just 15

Tired of love and I'm just 15

I already know how the world plays this game

They took my innocence, yet THEY complain

But... I'm just 15 at the end of the day

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Eagles

We write about the absolution of love and the dissolution of the soul. Poetry group comprising of the following poets;

Mackalan

Alpha Beharie

Marioson

Amy Void

Kimiera

Saveourscripts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.