Poets logo

June’s Bitter Memories

For Real Poetic's One Year Anniversary Challenge.

By Ameer BibiPublished 3 days ago Updated 3 days ago 1 min read
June’s Bitter Memories
Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

Just before my birthday, you were taken away,

Under the summer sun, you silently lay.

Never will June be the same again,

Eyes once filled with life, now veiled in pain.

Death took you swiftly, in a heartbeat’s pause,

Echoes of your laughter, now a distant cause.

A tall man, my protector, lying still on the ground,

Time has passed, but your absence is profound.

Here I stand, 28 years without your light,

A shadowed heart, living in perpetual night.

No fear existed when you were near,

Now I sing your songs to feel you here.

In every game, in every tune,

Voices of the past, under the moon.

Eternal longing, a father's embrace missed,

Remembering you in every bite and every twist,

Since 1996, my heart in pieces, torn,

All your favourites now in my life reborn,

Returning to those days, when fear was none,

Yet now I face each June, as if the pain's just begun.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

P.S: June is typically always a difficult month for me. My father's death anniversary is on June 26th, only two days before my birthday. I was probably 15 or 16 years old when he died. He suffered from a heart attack and collapsed on the floor. He was a strong, six-foot-tall man who I could not lift or move to the hospital or even to a bed. I was alone and panicked, hurrying outdoors to seek help. Every June, that horrible event repeats over and over again in my thoughts. I have carried a tremendous anxiety and trauma that has accompanied me ever since I lost my father, a strong, brave man.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If you wanna participate, here is the link of the Real Poetic challenge for one year anniversary.

sad poetryheartbreakFamilyAcrostic

About the Creator

Ameer Bibi

I am a mother of three. My life is full of stories and I love to read human stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Babs Iversonabout 6 hours ago

    Heartwrentching!!! Condolences!!! Sending hugs!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Heartbreaking. So sorry about your miss!

  • Well-wrought and a beautiful way to honor his memory.

  • Real Poetic3 days ago

    This is so heartbreaking. I’m so sorry about your Dad.

  • shanmuga priya3 days ago

    It's heart -breaking to know about the loss....I can feel the depth of grief in your writing.

  • I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Ameer BibiWritten by Ameer Bibi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.