Poets logo

JULY

Poem

By Julia Taylor Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
AI painting based on the poem

I remember the day we drove down to the river, a joint in my mouth, and you in that sweater.

The tension in the backseat of my first car, and the voice in my head wants to take it too far.

Your music was loud, but inside I screamed louder. What’s wrong with you, weirdo?!

Why do you want to kiss her?!

The sweat on my brow drips into my eyes, but rolling the window down

Threatens to reveal our hiding spot, so we melt.

A hot summer day, a beating red sun, darling, if it weren’t for you, I’d still be on the run.

Slide down the canyon, step on a cactus, exploring your land with reckless abandon.

Your monogrammed lighter flicks too close to my skin.

You light me on fire and I still let you win.

Now I’m up in flames, I can smell my hair burning. I struggle to scream

and my stomach is churning. Polaroid moments, paralyzed in my mind,

I wish more than anything you’d never left me behind.

Burn baby, burn, but only for me, screaming and crying through grit, bloody teeth.

Poisonous smoke is filling my lungs. Beg for me, angel, or I’ll cut off your tongue.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.