Poets logo

Joyful Air

A big sister is at one of the most important events of her little sisters life

By Blake LockhartPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Joyful Air
Photo by Leonardo Wong on Unsplash

He smiled that same witty smile and winked

at me, disappearing into the jubilant crowd.

It was about ten thirty in the evening and if

you went outside the building you could hear

Crickets chirping loudly in the quiet of the night.

Glee and celebration filled the room. My beautiful

sister in her long, White gown in the arms of her

Knight, dancing in the middle of everyone. The

Room smells of good food, and sweet wine. The

Music loud and comforting, I'm tired from all the dancing and am taking a breather, nibbling on my husband's leftover cake. He re emerges from the

crowd and hands me a cup of cool water, taking a seat across from me. His kinky hair and fresh fade, glistening

from the sweat. "Thank you," I say taking a gulp of the

Water. "You're welcome," he replied. I look into the crowd, I am filled with happiness and just like my sister, am reminded by the covenant I made with my husband and our wedding, oh the nostalgia. I look over at my husband and can tell he's reminiscing also. Both our eyes light up as the song changes, I smile and get up, he gets up and reaches out his hand, and I take it.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.