Poets logo

Jewels of Fortune

somewhere in Arabia

By Tony MartelloPublished 16 days ago Updated 16 days ago 2 min read
2
Jewels of Fortune
Photo by Felicia Montenegro on Unsplash

Light tears from your eyes

fade down your cheeks

This space close to my heart

I carry every day

Climb, climbing miles

to reach your high fortress

Come ride with me son

she’s far out of reach

Her dark well is deep

fathoms below the Sultan sea

Nothing but a drip

cold drip on a dark day

Listen son and be wise

keep your heart on the path

like a bandit she lies patiently

to steal the true jewels of fortune

Father, I hear your counsel

and strive to obey your command

I’m set on destination hill of fire, somewhere in this land

my passion burns, it's burning deep

the chance I take is thriving by my hand

Come ride with me son

she’s far out of reach

her dark well is deep , deep fathoms below the sea

nothing but a drip -cold drip on a dark day

Ten days riding high in the desert

my tongue longs for her drink

a sweet dew from her fountain

Winning waves of wonder

riding her ripples of joy

Where mirages of heat waves

undulate valleys and peaks

through Arabia’s heartland

Day to day surfing delirium

longing for the shade of the palms

with dates and more dates to come

Come ride with me son

she’s far out of reach

her dark well is deep

fathoms below the sea

nothing but a drip

cold drip on a dark day

Lord, I hear your word

my dry tongue is parched and pasty,

my cheeks chapped in this serpentine wind

I seek refuge in the well

of cool springs… where I may lose myself in the

waters below the palms, yielding shade for the dates and daisies,

for only a short time do desert daisies blossom…yellow and orange in bright abundance,

a fragment of time my son

Save your dew,

what dew you have left

for the lilies near the swift waters that flow day and night,

last forever!

Enduring the journey of your youth

You may drink eternally

from her well, blue and bright flowing through life’s plight

Her living wells providing water for

your temple and harmony for your soul

knock, knock, stumble… here I am at your door,

I have dry tears of longing

for you and I tonight

sweet time to take a sip from the cup

a drink of passion

rest my horse and saddle-

It's been a long journey past

Embrace me tight and hard

steal my jewels of fortune

Mahreen

love poemssurreal poetrySong Lyrics
2

About the Creator

Tony Martello

Join an author like no other on various tales that entertain, philosophies that inspire, and lessons that transform us. He is inspired by nature, the ocean, and funny social interactions. He is the author of Flat Spell Tales and much more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.