Poets logo

Ixtlilton

Aztec God of Medicine and Children’s sleep

By Ariana GonBonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Ixtlilton
Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

Did I abandon you first?

- or have my mother’s worries shielded you from getting to me?

- or did her mother’s addictions stop her from sleeping?

- or did her mother’s mother’s shame?

- or her great-grandmother’s loss?

My grandmother’s grandmother did not even worship you

I reach for you because I have nowhere else to go

I stumble my way back to find gods who already know me

- and some of them watch me walk away

Do they also know I won’t be able to find them?

Do you watch over me like a doting padrino, knowing I can’t find my ancestral guardians, but you’ll care for me anyway?

Sleep escapes me

I escape sleep

I escape you

I lie awake for myself

preoccupied with tomorrow

needing rest but excited to start

tomorrow cannot come to me faster

Come spend some time with me

Will you lie next to me until I fall asleep?

With you, it won’t take very long

then you can go to the next child

you can even take them a dream

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ariana GonBon

27yo bi Xicana. There's always more to write about, in more interesting ways than white men. Follow me @arte.con.ariana, all tips will go to @openyrpurse, both on Instagram.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.