Poets logo

It’s Cold When I’m Dreaming

Light my fire.

By MIchele PaulPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

It’s cold when I’m dreaming

It’s cold while I’m waiting

Wondering if I’m thinking

The wrong things

Or over feeling the right things

It crossed my mind

That it’s better I never met you at all

Because I felt closer to you when you were across the ocean

Hours behind

Under the waterfall

And now that you’re here

It’s almost like I should disappear

It’s cold while I’m under

I want to roll forward to something better

But I’m on stand by

Again! And why?

I choose to be different with patience

Give her a chance

Between two sips of beer

Trying to steer clear

Of these cold brutal twisting aches

Let them pass or watch as it breaks

The heart and every breath it takes

To believe in the hope you’ll send one more purple flower

Comparing me to its wonder

It’s cold when I’m dreaming

It’s cold while I’m waiting

For you to start talking

For you to show something

Like that warm loving feeling

Take me out from under

And please do light my fire

love poems
Like

About the Creator

MIchele Paul

I recently swapped my dance shoes for cowboy boots. Versatility has proven to be my best quality. I've been writing a journal since 1992 and my past seems to be charged with events that are from completely different lives. I like to listen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.