Poets logo

It Still Hurts

Poem about grief

By Paul StewartPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
15
It Still Hurts
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

It still hurts, you know

You're gone, the world moves on

But...it still hurts

Never again will I see that smile

Hear that laughter; your zest and zeal

It may sound overplayed or cliched

But, since you're gone

The world is a little dimmer, a little less bright

As hard as I pretend

That you're not gone

You're just beyond the river

In the city, as ever

I will have to face the reality

You're gone and it hurts

But for today

You're alive; I just can't see you

It's hard keeping you alive

In my head, in my heart

It still hurts

It still hurts

Missing you

I still feel

Shame, blame

I didn't visit

Make time

I neglected you

The family

Now, you're gone

I'm lost

I can't make up

For lost time

There are no more

Next weeks and next times

-

Part of the grieving process is acceptance

Acceptance allows you to move on

Or, so they say

-

What if I don't want to move on?

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Note: Inspired by losing my Nonna, still hurts, even now.

performance poetrysocial commentarysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
15

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss. I always feel like grief is this wound that closes up sometimes and opens at others while leaving a scar. Beautifully written my friend ❤️

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    Moving on isn’t always an option. People deal with grief differently. Then some deaths are easier to accept than others, it’s really relative to the impact someone had in one’s life. But I personally don’t believe death is an ending. Sorry for the loss of your Nonna. I feel like it’s always hard to get over the should haves and could haves. But I believe a soul knows when they are loved, even beyond the earthen realm. Beautiful poem.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I love how you ended this. Society’s obsession with “moving on” is so toxic, and it’s exactly why most people are slightly sociopathic. I can’t remember the name of the psychotherapist, or what podcast I was listening to, but they said that sociopathic tendencies are COMMON. And I believe it. A sociopath is someone who cannot feel. They don’t feel remorse, they don’t feel joy. The only thing they can feel is shame at getting caught. They can feel the weight of public humiliation. So when we live in a society that encourages “moving on” for productivity and consumerism, people go through life numbing themselves to emotions they find painful or inconvenient. And after a while, they become less and less empathetic to others. How can you feel the pain of another while refusing to deal with your own shit? You can’t. It doesn’t surprise me that you are still grappling with the loss, and the guilt. What makes someone a true artist, writer, creator, whatever title you give it, is that they feel everything. Then they turn it into something tangible, some creation that triggers other people to feel. Unfortunately, with narcissism on the rise (a natural response to sociopathic tendencies), a lot of people want content warnings so they don’t have to see anything that would make them feel what they are distracting themselves from, because they need to “function.” Seems pretty dysfunctional to me, though.

  • What if I don't want to hold on? That line resonated deeply with me. I tend to hold on so tightly to things. Your Nonna was one of your first pieces that I read! I'm so sorry Paul. I do hope you can move on. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Thoughtful work Paul. I identify with that conflict of not wanting “to move on”. ☺️ Best.

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    That one's touching Paul. Sorry you lost your Nonna.

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    Your poem is a beautiful, bittersweet tribute, and it really got to me. This was masterfully done. 💗

  • Sara Wilson11 months ago

    Tragic and beautiful. Wonderful work!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Ah yeah, grief hurts and creeps up any time it wants. I'm so sorry you have such guilt attached to the grief. Not easy :( Beautifully penned though.

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    It's a total shame. Hugs.

  • ARC11 months ago

    💙

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    No answers. But can offer a warm embrace. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.